Everwide Newsletter
Everwide Newsletter No.306
Date:2019-08-26

Experiment report § Measurement of surface resistance/volume resistance

Technical data often have two values: Surface resistance and Volume resistance. This is based on the use of a high resistance meter in accordance with ASTM The result obtained by D257 "Standard Test of DC Resistance or Conductivity of Insulating Material" (Figure 1-3). Surface resistance represents the resistance of a material surface with an area of ​​1 cm² to the leakage current of the opposite electrodes, in Ω (Figure 4). The volume resistance represents the resistance of a material of 1 cubic centimeter to the leakage current of the upper and lower parallel electrodes, and the unit is Ω˙cm (Figure 5).

The surface resistance and volume resistance will be affected by the voltage, humidity, temperature, etc. during the measurement. Especially the surface resistance is easily changed by the surface condition of the sample. To measure the resistance, record the voltage used. The resistance may decrease when the temperature rises. At present, Everwide has purchased temperature control fixtures, which can measure the value of resistance from room temperature to 200℃, and can further understand the high temperature characteristics of materials. The higher the resistance of the material, the better the insulation performance. Taking epoxy resin as an example, the volume resistance is often higher than 10 to the 15-16 power. This kind of data is generally only required to record the order of magnitude, and the number in front of the order of magnitude will not be stable. It is affected by the limit of the instrument, the nature of the material and the environment, and there is not much reference value.
─ Author: Mr. Cheng Xian tour
About Everwide § New project meeting after 10 years

The new project presentation of the R&D department is held once a month and is one of the company's most important events. Every time in this meeting, five R&D colleagues take turns to share their ongoing projects. We hope that the content of the colleagues' report includes: 1. The problems faced in the case; 2. The idea of ​​solving the problem; 3. The actual verification of the idea; 4. The conclusion and experience. In addition to the colleagues who reported on the stage, the colleagues in the audience were not idle either. They had to score and write comments on the content of the report. For example: "The context is clear and the details are clear"; "Introduction of phosphorus-based flame retardants, praise!"; "The principle of defoaming can be explained in detail"... etc. Each speaker will publicly receive more than 30 such feedbacks, so that they have a basis for progress, and everyone can review them together. The new project meeting has lasted for more than 10 years. We care about what we have exchanged and the quality of the report. We hope that Everwide can truly become a "learning organization".

Knowledge exchange§ The advantages of MS resin compared to RTV1 silicone resin

1. The main structure of MS resin is polyether resin, which has higher polarity than RTV1 silicone resin. For most metal and plastic materials, its adhesive force is better than Silicone. 2. At present, most of the RTV1 Silicone on the market are deacidification or deoxime type, the reaction will release an unpleasant smell and even corrode the workpiece. A small part of RTV1 Silicone is dealcoholized, and the adhesion of these products is worse than that of acid and oxime. MS resins are all dealcoholized, there is no unpleasant smell and there is no doubt about corrosion. 3. RTV1 Silicone will have the suspicion of spitting out silicone oil, which will cause contamination of the workpiece, and will also adsorb dust in the air and cause dirt, which cannot be easily cleaned. MS resin does not have this doubt. 4. Because MS resin has better than RTV1 Silicone also has high polarity, so the coating can be evenly applied to the MS colloid, unlike RTV1 Silicone cannot be evenly coated by paint.

Bi-weekly strike § Evergrande history

My mother and uncles have worked in their northern factory for most of their lives. When their "first generation" retired in 1997, this factory was taken over by my "second generation" cousins. Later we went to Douliu to set up a new factory. My father hadn't retired that year. Some of our brothers were doing military service, some were still in school, and only my mother was at home. During that time, she often went to the Taipei Social Education Center to learn oil painting and painted a lot of "world famous paintings". Visitors who hung on the walls thought these were works by famous artists. For me, the most famous one is "Dragon Boat Rowing", where my mother copied a photo from the Dragon Boat Festival on the monthly calendar. She told me that the state of mind in painting this picture hoped that everyone in the new business would work together and the future of the factory would always be bright. I often wonder what the full name of our company: "Everwide Chemical Co., Ltd." means. "Everwide" is the name given by my uncle. I regard it as the expectation of our elders; "Chemistry" is the industry we are engaged in; "Limited Shares" represents my parents. They put their life savings on us. Capital adventurer. The most interesting is the word "company". "Government" can be interpreted as the public, and "secretary" has the meaning of mastering, handling, and undertaking. A "company" is an organization that a group of people masters, handles, and undertakes together. Having said that, it is not easy for the public to "master, handle, and undertake" organizational affairs. It takes considerable education and training to build a basic consensus and have coherent logic to achieve good results. This principle is the same as rowing a dragon boat. If you just grab a group of people and talk, the dragon boat will overturn. From this perspective, all companies are practicing in the word "company". The closer to the true meaning of "company", the more long-lasting good company.
─ author: Dr. Liming Xu

永寬電子報
永寬化學電子報-第306期
發行日期:2019-08-26

實驗報告 § 表面電阻/體積電阻的量測

技術資料經常有表面電阻(Surface resistance)和體積電阻(Volume resistance)這兩個數值,這是利用高阻計依照ASTM D257「絕緣材料直流電阻或電導的標準試驗」所得到的結果(圖1-3)。表面電阻代表面積1平方公分的材料表面,對相對兩邊電極洩漏電流所產生的電阻,單位是Ω(圖4)。體積電阻代表1立方公分的材料,對上下兩邊平行電極洩漏電流所產生的電阻,單位是Ω˙cm(圖5)。

表面電阻與體積電阻會受到量測時的電壓、濕度、溫度…等影響。特別是表面電阻,很容易受到樣品表面狀況而發生變化。量測電阻要記錄使用的電壓,溫度升高時電阻可能下降。目前永寬已經購置控溫的治具,可以量測電阻的數值由室溫到200℃,可以進一步瞭解材料高溫的特性。材料的電阻越高,絕緣性能越好。以環氧樹脂為例,體積電阻經常高到10的15-16次方以上。這種數據一般記錄數量級即可,數量級前面的數字不會穩定,受到儀器的極限、材料的本性與環境的影響,沒有太多參考價值。
─作者:游承憲先生
關於永寬 § 歷經10年的新專案會議

研發部的新專案發表會一個月舉行一次,是公司最重要的活動之一。每次在這個會議中,輪流由5位研發的同仁上台分享他們正在進行的專案。我們希望同仁報告的內容包括:1. 案例中面臨的問題;2.解決問題的構想;3. 對想法的實際驗證;4. 結論與心得。 除了台上報告的同事外,台下的同事也沒閒著,要針對報告的內容打分數與寫評語。例如:「脈絡清楚,詳細明瞭」;「介紹磷系阻燃劑,讚!」;「脫泡原理可再詳細解說」...等。每位講者會公開收到三十多則這樣的回饋,讓自己有進步的依據,也讓大家一起檢 視。新專案會議持續了10年以上,我們很在乎交流了什麼東西,報告的品質好不好,希望永寬能真正成為「學習型組織」。

知識交流§ M S樹脂與RTV1矽氧樹脂相比的優點

1. MS樹脂的主結構為聚醚樹脂,極性比RTV1矽氧樹脂高,對大部分的金屬與塑膠材來說,它的接著力比Silicone來得好。2.目前市面上RTV1 Silicone大多是脫酸型或是脫肟型,反應會釋放出難聞的味道,甚至會腐蝕工件。少部分RTV1 Silicone是脫醇型,這類產品的接著力比脫酸及脫肟型還要差。MS樹脂都是脫醇型,不會有難聞的味道且也不會有腐蝕的疑慮。3.RTV1 Silicone會有吐出矽油的疑慮,它們會造成工件的污染,也會吸附空氣中的灰塵造成髒污,無法被輕易地清潔掉。MS樹脂就沒有這個疑慮。4.由於MS樹脂具有比RTV1 Silicone還要高的極性,因此塗料可以均勻地塗刷在MS膠體上,不像RTV1 Silicone無法被塗料均勻地塗佈。

雙週好球 § 永寬大歷史

我的母親和舅舅們在他們北部的工廠工作了大半輩子。1997年他們「第一代」退休的時候,這個工廠由「第二代」我的表兄弟們承接,後來我們才到斗六來另設新廠。當年我的父親還沒有退休,我們兄弟有的在服兵役、有的尚在就學,只有母親一人閒賦在家。那段時間她常到台北社教館學油畫,畫了不少「世界名畫」,掛在牆上訪客以為這些是名家之作。對我來說,最著名的是「划龍舟」這幅,母親臨摹自月曆上端午節的照片。她告訴我,畫這一幅畫的心境,希望新事業大家能夠齊心協力,工廠的前途永遠寬廣。 我經常想我們公司全名:「永寬化學股份有限公司」是什麼意思。「永寬」 是舅舅取的名字,我把它當做長輩對我們的期許;「化學」是我們從事的產業別;「股份有限」代表我的父母,他們把一生的積蓄投注在我們身上,是資本冒險家。最有意思的是「公司」兩個字。「公」可以當公眾來解,「司」有掌握、處理、承擔的意思。「公司」就是一群人共同掌握、處理、承擔的組織。話說回來,公眾對組織事務「掌握、處理、承擔」並不容易,要透過相當的教育訓練,凝聚基本的共識,有前後連貫的邏輯,才會有好的結果。這個道理和划龍舟一樣,隨便揪一群人七嘴八舌,龍舟是會翻覆的。從這個角度來看,所有的公司都是在「公司」兩個字修煉,越接近「公司」真義的,就越是可長可久的好公司。
─作者:李明旭 博士